Lincoln University Scholarships

If you’d like to apply for a scholarship for the 2020 intake, or to get more information please contact, or see the information on Lincoln University’s website. Applicants should submit game film of themselves playing to James, as well as perform the skills testing portion (recording sheet at bottom of this page, examples of each drill can be viewed here). Please note, these scholarships are for NZ/Australian citizens or Permament Residents only.


In 2013 Basketball was included as a full scholarship sport at Lincoln University for the first time. The Lincoln University Basketball scholarships cover tuition fees for a full-time course of study as well as intensive, sport-specific training delivered by the University’s high performance team, and the Canterbury Basketball Association. Accommodation and textbooks/course related costs are the responsibility of the applicant if successful.

Paul Duggan, CBA General Manager says “The Lincoln University Basketball Scholarship provides student athletes with a well balanced programme combining academic endeavours with basketball development in the pursuit of excellence. Access to the supportive staff and excellent facilities within a high performance environment will allow players to develop to a level where they can have success on the sporting stage while at the same time succeeding in life. Canterbury Basketball Association looks forward to this partnership with Lincoln University.”

We wish to congratulate some of our past Lincoln University Basketball Scholarship recipients, as our sixth class has now received their offers. We’re excited to have had excellent interest in this opportunity for tertiary education, and have the following student-athletes studying at Lincoln:


Lucy Brown – Middleton Grange School (Christchurch) –  UTSNZ Tournament Team 2017; Canterbury/Waitaha U23 team 2017, 2018

Caitlin Grice – Wellington Girls’ College (Wellington) – NZ U19 Tournament Team 2015; CBA Women’s Premier Finals MVP 2016; Waitaha U23 Team 2018

Ben Hall – Rangiora High School (Rangiora) – Thomson Trophy All Star (2016); Canterbury/Waitaha U23 team 2018

Ihaia Kendrew – Hillmorton High School (Christchurch) – Second Place at A Boys Schick Nationals (2017); Thomson Trophy All Star (2017, 2018); Scored 58 points in Thomson Trophy game (2018)

Petelo Leaupepe – Scots College (Wellington) – Canterbury/Waitaha U23 Team 2018

Patrick Neale – Tauranga Boys’ College (Tauranga) – NZ U17 Koru Team 2015; Indiana Elite Prep Academy Scholarship 2016

Panashe Nyashanu – Hamilton Boys’ High School (Hamilton) – Waikato U19 Team 2016

Ajiah Pepe – Canterbury College (Queensland) – Queensland U20 Team 2017; Logan Thunder 2016, 2017; Canterbury Wildcats 2018, 2019

Connie Poletti – New Plymouth Girls’ High (New Plymouth) – NZ U18 Women and Junior Tall Fern 2014; NZ Secondary Schools Championship Tournament Team 2014; Tall Ferns Trialist 2015; Canterbury Wildcats 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019

Rosalia Samia – Napier Girls’ High (Napier) – NZ U17 Women (2017); NZ U18 Women (2018); Taranaki Thunder (2018); Canterbury Wildcats (2019)

Josiah Williams – Rangitoto College (Auckland) – NZ Secondary School Champions 2015; Finals MVP in Auckland School Competition 2015; Waitakere U23 team 2016; Canterbury/Waitaha U23 2017, 2018; CBA U23 Club Finals MVP 2017


Our Previous and Graduated Scholars:

Ben Bowie – Lincoln High School (Christchurch) – Canterbury U19 Men Coaches Award 2014; CBA U23 Club Finals MVP 2015, 2016

James Cawthorn – Lincoln High School (Christchurch) – NZ U20 Men 2014; Trialist for NZ Breakers Development Squad 2013; NZ U23 National Champion and Tournament Team 2015; 2017; Canterbury Men’s Team (Argentina Tour) 2016; CBA Men’s Premier Grade MVP 2017

Sam Dixon – St. Bede’s College (Christchurch) – Referee for the Women’s Basketball Championship 2012 – 2014; Lincoln University Blues Award 2012; North Canterbury Referee of the Year 2012 (all codes)

Charlotte Eglinton – Rangi Ruru Girls’ School (Christchurch) – Canterbury U19 Women 2015, 2016; CBA U20 First Team 2016

Nick Erwood – Burnside High School (Christchurch) – Canterbury Men’s Team (Argentina Tour) 2014, 2016; CBA U23 Club Co-MVP 2013; NZ U23 National Champion 2015

Courtney Hamblin (Post Graduate Scholar) – Rangiora High School (North Canterbury) – All District team while at Dakota State University 2011-2014; NZ U20 Women 2010; Canterbury Wildcats 2010-2011, 2016-2017

Aled Jones – New Plymouth Boys’ High School (New Plymouth) – Taranaki Mountain Airs 2014; NZ U20 Men 2011; CBA U23 Club MVP 2015; Canterbury Men’s Team (Argentina Tour) 2016

Joseph King – Rosmini College (Auckland) – Hibiscus Coast U23 Men 2013 (NZ Champions); Rosmini College 2011 (NZ Champions)

James Levings – St. Bede’s College (Christchurch) – Canterbury U19 Men 2012; NZ U23 National Champion and Tournament Team 2015; Canterbury Men’s Team (Argentina Tour) 2016

Bianca Malifa – Mueller College (Brisbane) – Otago U19 and NBC Women 2015; Canterbury U23 2016; CBA U20 Club MVP 2016; Canterbury Wildcats 2017

Jamie Maoate – Palmerston North Boys’ High School (Palmerston North)- Manawatu Jets Training Squad 2013

Bailey McDougall – James Hargest High School (Invercargill) – Canterbury Wildcats 2013; NZ U20 Women 2012; Southland Pearls (WBC) 2012

Sophie Schrader – St. Margaret’s College (Christchurch) – Canterbury U19 Women 2015, 2016; Canterbury Wildcats Training Squad 2015; NZ U16 Trialist 2013; Waitaha U23 Team 2018

Xavier Shaw – Montana State University-Northern (USA) – Taranaki Mountain Airs 2012, 2015, Canterbury Rams 2016; Trialist for NZ Breakers Development Squad 2013; Canterbury Men’s Team (Argentina Tour) 2016

Sam Smith – Tauranga Boys’ High School (Tauranga) – NZ U18 Men 2013; CBA U23 Club MVP 2014; NZ U23 Tournament Team 2014

Anastasia Tauamiti – Middleton Grange High School (Christchurch) – Canterbury U23 team 2013

Ben Williams – Massey High School (Auckland) – NZ U20 Men 2014; Waitakere Rangers Training Squad 2014; Samoan Senior Men’s Team 2014; Canterbury Rams 2017


Lincoln University offers sports scholarships in cricket, golf, netball, football, hockey, rowing and rugby.  In addition there is the ‘elite’ scholarship awarded to strong individual athletes competing in other sporting codes.

Peter Magson of Lincoln University’s sports programme says “we are continuously watching what all sporting codes are doing and assessing our programmes against what is needed at the representative level.  We initiated talks around the basketball scholarship in response to a general increase in awareness and interest in the sport, as well as because we were seeing a number of sports scholars coming through who are very strong basketball players.”

Lincoln University has the longest-running university sports scholarship programme in New Zealand and can claim Richie McCaw (rugby), Sam Whitelock (rugby) and Amy Satterthwaite (cricket) amongst previous students who have been through the scholarship programme.

Applications for these basketball scholarships are now live online at the Lincoln University Website – Lincoln University Basketball.